Book picks similar to
The Pumpkin Patch Parable by Liz Curtis Higgs


picture-books
halloween
childrens
christian-fiction

God Gave Us Two


Lisa Tawn Bergren - 2001
    “Why do we need a new baby?” she asks. “If we don’t like the new baby, can we send it back?” “Will you forget me when the new baby comes?”Gently and lovingly, Mama and Papa assure their firstborn that the new baby is a gift from God they want very much, just as Little Cub was–and still is. “God gave us you. Now he’s given us two!”The winsome sequel to God Gave Us You, God Gave Us Two playfully affirms a child’s uniqueness and place in the family and helps little ones accept, appreciate, and love their new siblings.

The Boy and the Ocean


Max Lucado - 2013
    Just how wide, how deep, and how big is the love of God really?See for yourself in this heart-warming story about a boy, his parents, and the wonder of creation.From the vast reaches of the ocean to the towering heights of the mountains, Max Lucado takes us on a journey of discovery and thanksgiving as he shows us how creation expresses the unmatched love of the Creator.Filled with beautiful illustrations, this charming tale teaches about the God whose love never ends and will remain a favorite among families for years to come.

Pumpkin Time!


Erzsi Deak - 2014
    The day the cows strolled down Main Street in fancy hats...Evy didn't notice.What was Evy doing?Evy is so focused on watching her garden grow that she misses all the silliness going on around her--pigs DANCING, donkeys FLYING, and sheep HAVING A PICNIC.But after Evy's spent all year taking care of her garden, everyone's invited to pumpkin time!

The Priest with Dirty Clothes: A Timeless Story of God's Love and Forgiveness


R.C. Sproul - 1997
    The Prince offers the perfect gift - his own clothes. A dual story relates a grandfather telling two children about how Jesus cleans and covers their heart.

Just Because You're Mine


Sally Lloyd-Jones - 2011
    From New York Times bestselling author Sally Lloyd-Jones and illustrator Frank Endersby comes a classic story about the nature of unconditional love.Little Red Squirrel tries to guess the reason that his daddy loves him—is it because he is a good High Climber, and Brave, and Fast, and Completely Handsome? Could it be because he’s so Friendly? Or maybe it’s because he’s so good at finding Top Secret Berries?The answer is a heartwarming testament to a parent’s love for a child.Perfect for fans of Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney and classics such as The Runaway Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown.

When God Made You


Matthew Paul Turner - 2017
    God thinks about you.God was thinking of you long before your debut. From early on, children are looking to discover their place in the world and longing to understand how their personalities, traits, and talents fit in. The assurance that they are deeply loved and a unique creation in our big universe is certain to help them spread their wings and fly. Through playful, charming rhyme and vivid, fantastical illustrations, When God Made You inspires young readers to learn about their own special gifts and how they fit into God's divine plan as they grow, explore, and begin to create for themselves. 'Cause when God made YOU, somehow God knewThat the world needed someone exactly like you!

The Very Best Pumpkin


Mark Kimball Moulton - 2010
    One summer Peter finds a lonely pumpkin all by itself in the field, and with his tender care, the pumpkin flourishes. By autumn, it’s the very best pumpkin of all, and Peter wants to keep it for himself. But when a young girl shows up at the farm in quest of a perfect pumpkin, will Peter pass on his prized pumpkin and gain a friend? From the bestselling creators of Reindeer Christmas and A Snowman Named Just Bob, this enchanting story is filled with the magic of autumn and friendship.

Halfway Herbert


Francis Chan - 2010
    But when he tells a half-truth, he learns the importance of honesty and of following God with all his heart.Through Chan's trademark teaching and storytelling, children discover what living for God really means.  Halfway Herbert offers parents a practical tool for inspiring godly character. Parents will appreciate that Chan, a father of four, understands the characher development issues parents face.  And fans of his previsou books will treasure lessons geared especially for children.

The Forever Garden


Laurel Snyder - 2017
    Every day, Honey tends her garden, thinning the lettuces, pulling up beets, and even singing to the kale. (Honey says if you listen carefully, you can hear the kale singing back!) Laurel, the little girl who lives next door, likes to help, weeding the rows, washing vegetables under the pump, and gathering speckled eggs from the chicken coop. But one day there is a FOR SALE sign in Honey's front yard. Honey's mother is sick, and she is moving away! What will happen to Honey's garden? And what will Laurel do without her friend? Here is a touching story that beautifully illustrates how friendship—just like a garden—grows. Praise for Swan: The Life and Dance of Anna Pavlova by Laurel Snyder: "Spare, poetic words sit as lightly as snowflakes." —The Wall Street Journal

City Green


DyAnne DiSalvo-Ryan - 1994
    Sometimes just looking at it makes Marcy feel sad. Then one spring, Marcy has a wonderful idea: Instead of a useless lot, why not a green and growing space for everyone to enjoy?With her warm, hopeful text and inviting illustrations, DyAnne Disalvo-Ryan shows how a whole neighborhood blossoms when people join together and get involved.

Jennie's Hat


Ezra Jack Keats - 1966
    But when the box arrives, the hat inside is very plain. She had imagined a wonderful hat with big colorful flowers and even tries to make her own hat from a straw basket! Jennie is almost ready to give up on her dream when she receives a fanciful surprise from some very special friends. Ezra Jack Keats's timelessly charming illustrations will leave readers wishing for a dream hat of their own.

The Twins' Blanket


Hyewon Yum - 2011
    But as they grow into new beds, they need new blankets, too. Now they face a new dilemma: they don’t know how  not to share.Told from the perspective of two five-year-olds, The Twins’ Blanket playfully illuminates squabbles and affection between young siblings. Yum’s minimalistic art astutely captures these twins’ emotions as they toss, turn, and tug their new and old blankets—and embrace their growing independence.

Apples and Pumpkins


Anne Rockwell - 1988
    Back home, she helps her mother carve a funny jack-o'-lantern face and puts a glowing candle inside her prize new pumpkin...just in time for Halloween and an evening of lots of "trick or treats"!

Where Is Baby's Yummy Tummy?: A Karen Katz Lift-the-Flap Book


Karen Katz - 2011
    The long-awaited companion title to Karen Katz's bestselling Where Is Baby's Belly Button?.Where is baby’s tummy that’s oh, so yummy?Under the teddy bear! Little ones will love lifting the large, sturdy flaps in this book to reveal Baby's pretty nose, sweet feet, yummy tummy, and more! This new gem from Karen Katz is sure to be a year-round favorite for younger readers.

Pumpkin Hill


Elizabeth Spurr - 2006
    All it took was a mighty wind to set those pumpkins off on a tumble that would wakeup a sleepy valley town with a rumbling, tumbling surprise.