Bucket Nut


Liza Cody - 1995
    Working as a wrestler called the London Lassassin, all she wants is wrestling superstardom and to find her long-lost sister. She does a little investigating on her own, and ends up in the middle of a vicious London gang war fighting for her life.

The Burglar Who Smelled Smoke


Lawrence Block - 2011
    You’ll note that it bears a joint byline. Lynne Wood Block, my frequent companion, came up with the basic idea and did the requisite research. Then I sat down and wrote the story, which was the easy part.It was published as a special insert in Mary Higgins Clark’s mystery magazine and in an anthology of similar husband/wife collaborations, and has been chosen for locked-room anthologies. I included it in my omnibus collection of short fiction, Enough Rope, so if you already own that book, or want to acquire it in eBook form, you may not need to snap up this present offering.I supose it’s inevitable that a burglar should star in a classic locked-room mystery story. Bernie’s in another as well, “The Burglar Who Dropped In On Elvis,” also available for Kindle.

Days of Drums


Philip Shelby - 1996
    As a child, little Holland Tylo endured a "spray of blood" from the body of her father, also a U.S. senator, when he was pierced by an assassin's bullets. This traumatic event, in Shelby's hands, is supposed to explain not only why Tylo grew up to become a Secret Service agent but also why she is so driven to find the killer of Senator Charles Westbourne, who is slain after insisting that Tylo, who's guarding him, let him have a little privacy. Primed to take the fall for Westbourne's death, Tylo turns out to be the unwitting owner of a computer disk that contains the dead man's smoking-gun evidence against powerful members of the government?and the killer knows this, because Tylo is trusting the wrong people. But instead of turning into a cat-and-mouse game or a gritty procedural, the novel quickly comes to resemble only a fleshed-out screenplay, where the seen-it-before plot has Tylo framed for murder, branded as a rogue agent and sent into hiding?from where, with the help of a few loyal friends, she attempts to clear her name, reveal the conspiracy and bring the killer and the guilty to justice. This is thriller-writing by the numbers?a lot of drive and a lot of energy, but very little heart or feeling for devastating events, like the death of a lover; there are too many unflattering echoes of the movie In the Line of Fire, as well. If Shelby (Oasis of Dreams, 1992) set out to write a novel destined to become a soulless but action-filled movie blockbuster, he's succeeded.

The Corpse's Tale


Katherine John - 2008
    He lived with his mother in the village of Llan, next door to bright, beautiful 19 year-old Anna Harris. But when Anna's battered body is discovered in a churchyard - and her bloodstained earring turns up Dai's pocket - he immediately becomes the prime suspect.

The Perfect Murder


Peter James - 2010
    Victor secretly loathes Joan more and more each day. Joan is bored by Victor, and his snoring drives her mad. Their marriage has reached a crisis point....Victor decides there is only one way to get Joan out of his life forever, but he's about to get a nasty surprise. As it turns out, Victor's not the only one with murder in mind.....

Catchee Monkey


Sean Cameron - 2014
    One Murder. No Clue.When Eddie is persuaded to start a detective agency with his friend Rex, he hopes to set up a respectable business, while Rex sees it as a chance to play out his noir fantasies.The inexperienced sleuths stumble upon a murder mystery that puts them head-to-head with gangsters, assassins, and corrupt coppers. Outnumbered, outgunned and outwitted, they have to solve their case before it kills them, or before they end up killing each other.The first in the Rex & Eddie Mysteries series, Catchee Monkey is a comedy-mystery — or daft noir — that lovingly mashes the pulp detective novel with a British twist.

Chinese Cooking for Diamond Thieves


Dave Lowry - 2014
    Infatuated, and with nothing better to do, he ends up with her in St. Louis, where he gets a job as a chef in a Chinese restaurant. Even though he’s a gwai lo—a foreign devil—his cooking skills impress the Chinese patrons of the restaurant, and his wooing skills impress Corinne when she joins him there as a waitress. But when Chinese gangsters show up demanding diamonds they believe Tucker’s kind-of, sort-of, don’t-call-her-a-girlfriend stole, he and his friends—which luckily include a couple of FBI agents—have to figure out just who is gunning for Corinne and how to stop them. Good thing Tucker is a Mandarin-speaking martial arts master who isn’t afraid to throw the first punch. With its one-of-a-kind hero, Chinese Cooking for Diamond Thieves is perfect for anyone who loves cooking, Chinese culture, bad jokes, and young love. Diamonds are forever . . . unless Chinese mobsters decide they want them back.

Sock


Penn Jillette - 2004
    The sock monkey belongs to a New York City police diver who discovers the body of an old lover in the murky waters of the Hudson River and sets off with her best friend to find her killer. The story of their quest swerves and veers, takes off into philosophical riffs, occasionally stops to tell a side story, and references a treasure trove of 1970's and 1980's pop culture. Sock is a surprising, intense, fascinating piece of work.

Kill Two Birds and Get Stoned


Kinky Friedman - 2004
    He stares at the blank pages in his typewriter, hoping for the spark that will finally ignite his ambition to write the Great Armenian Novel.And then he meets Clyde Potts. She is beautiful, intelligent, charming, perhaps psychic, and, for better or worse, very possibly unbalanced. With Potts’s joie de vivre and her certified-insane partner in crime, Fox Harris, Snow is caught up in a series of pranks against corporate sprawl that they execute with a bit of booze and some wacky tobaccy from Australia known as Malabimbi Madness.Things quickly spin out of control as the trio’s ultimate, diuretically inspired prank leads to an unexpected, shocking conclusion, and Walter is left to wonder if the only things you ever keep in this life are the things you let slip through your fingers.

Wodehouse on Crime


P.G. Wodehouse - 1981
    One dozen prime examples of the late writer's stories about crime, criminals, and cunning detectives include "The Crime Wave at Blandings," "Strychnine in the Soup," and "Ukridge's Accident Syndicate"

Two Much


Donald E. Westlake - 1975
    When Art Dodge falls in love with beautiful twins, he wants both all to himself. So, Art and Bart Dodge marry the girls, until he is exhausted and decides Bart has to go. Previous paberback by Fawcett Crest.

The Space Between


Dete Meserve - 2018
    Her husband, Ben, a Los Angeles restaurateur, has disappeared, leaving behind an unexplained bank deposit of a million dollars, a loaded Glock in the nightstand, and a video security system that’s been wiped clean. The only answers their son, Zack, can offer are the last words his father said to him: keep the doors locked and set the alarm.Sarah’s marriage was more troubled than anyone suspected, but now she is afraid that her husband’s recent past could be darker than she dares to admit. Suspecting that nothing about Ben’s vanishing is what it seems, Sarah must delve into the space between old memories, newfound fears, and misleading clues to piece together the mystery of her husband’s disappearance—and find what she hopes in her heart is the truth.

The Last Stage


Louise Voss - 2019
    Enthrallingly gripping – and those twists! A must read’ Angela ClarkeA violent and horrific incident forces a young woman to go into hiding, at the peak of her career as lead singer of an indie pop band. Years later, strange things start to happen and it becomes clear that some know who she is…At the peak of her career as lead singer of a legendary 1980s indie band, Meredith Vincent was driven off the international stage by a horrific incident. Now living a quiet existence in a cottage on the grounds of an old stately home, she has put her past behind her and come to terms with her new life.When a body is found in the manicured gardens of her home, and a series of inexplicable and unsettling events begins to occur, it becomes clear that someone is watching, someone who knows who she is … Someone who wants vengeance.And this is only the beginning…A dark, riveting and chilling psychological thriller, The Last Stage is also a study of secrets and obsessions, where innocent acts can have the most terrifying consequences.‘I’ve been a fan of Louise Voss for years and I honestly think THE LAST STAGE is her best yet. A superb read’ Cass Green‘Twists, turns and stabs you in the heart. It deserves to be huge’ Martyn Waites‘An expert piece of contrivance’ Publishers Weekly‘Brilliantly unsettling’ Jane Casey‘Ingeniously plotted and totally addictive’ Paddy Magrane‘I was guessing right to the end’ Katarina Diamond‘A cracking page-turner that sucks you straight into the dark heart of human behaviour. I couldn’t put it down!’ Marnie Riches, author of Born Bad‘A tense, super-twisty, well-written page-turner … Fab read’ Amanda Jennings‘Poignant, clever and terrifically tense’ William Shaw, author of The Birdwatcher‘A truly twisty yet believable tale with memorable characters and a cleverly woven atmospheric narrative’ Liz Loves Books

The Company of Demons


Michael JordanMichael Jordan - 2018
    -- Cleveland Sun News"Jordan is a cross between John Grisham and Stephen King."-- Cleveland SceneThe brutal murder of a friend leaves lawyer John Coleman stunned and sends shockwaves through the city of Cleveland. The technique of the killing recalls memories of the Torso Murderer, who dismembered at least twelve people decades ago and then vanished—eluding even legendary crime fighter Eliot Ness. Jennifer, the victim’s beautiful daughter, hires John to handle her father’s estate, and romantic feelings for her soon complicate his already troubled marriage. When John finds himself entangled with a cold-blooded biker gang, an ex-cop with a fuzzy past, and the drug-addicted son of the dead man, he struggles to make sense of it all.But there is no escaping a growing sense of dread."A well-written and complexly plotted crime thriller." --Caroline McCullagh, Mensa Bulletin''The terror of the Torso Murderer returns in this gritty, Cleveland-centric tale. Jordan delights with crackling dialogue, true-to-life characters, an intensely paced plot, and an explosive finale. A must-read for fans of Lecter, Dexter, and the Ripper.'' --John Keyse-Walker, Author of Sun, Sand, Murder and Beach, Breeze, Bloodshed; winner of Minotaur Books/Mystery Writers of America First Crime Novel Award''Michael Jordan brings characters and scenes to life in this emotionally gripping and compelling breakout novel. Brilliantly crafted.''--Rick Porrello, author of To Kill the Irishman (adapted into a major motion picture), Superthief!, and The Rise and Fall of the Cleveland Mafia Corn, Sugar, and BloodThe Company of Demons by Michael Jordan is a wonderful blend of crime and mystery, a riveting story with sophisticated characters. [...] Michael Jordan is a great storyteller and he has the ability to keep the narrative emotionally intense and psychologically disturbing. The Company of Demons is a real page-turner.-- Reader's Favorite

Solomon & Lord Drop Anchor


Paul Levine - 2010
    Steve says he's going fishing with Manuel Cruz, a guy who stole a bundle from Steve s favorite client. Which is when Victoria learns her law partner has an unorthodox method of "negotiating" a settlement. The "Solomon and Lord" novels have been nominated for the Edgar, Macavity, James Thurber and International Thriller Awards.